Metairie Theft Crime Lawyer
Theft is defined in the Louisiana criminal statutes as taking the valuable property of another person with the intent to deprive them of it permanently. Joyriding, for example, is the act of taking another person’s vehicle without their permission but eventually returning it. Due to the fact that the deprivation is not permanent, this is not theft. Stealing another person’s vehicle with the intent to keep it, on the other hand, is grand theft auto.
State law also outlines very specific types of theft, including embezzlement, larceny, and theft by false pretenses. Below, our Metairie theft crime lawyer explains more about the laws in the state.
The Classification and Penalties for Different Types of Theft in Metairie
The most minor act of theft in Metairie is taking property valued at less than $1,000 and it is a misdemeanor. This offense is punishable by up to five years, a maximum fine of $1,000, or both. Other classification and penalties for different types of theft are as follows:
- Theft of property valued between $1,000 and $5,000: Up to five years in prison, a maximum $3,000 fine, or both.
- Theft of property valued between $5,000 and $25,000: Up to ten years in prison, a maximum $10,000 fine, or both.
- Theft of property valued at more than $25,000: Up to 20 years in prison, a maximum fine of $50,000, or both.
It is important to note that when a person has a previous conviction on their criminal record, the above penalties will increase. For example, if a person has two convictions on their record for misdemeanor theft and they are charged again, they will likely face felony charges. If convicted, they may be sentenced to up to two years in prison, a maximum fine of $2,000, or both.
The Laws on Shoplifting in Metairie
In Louisiana, shoplifting is defined as the act of taking property from a commercial merchant with the intent to deprive the owner of the item or items permanently. The courts have defined the act of shoplifting as:
- Intentionally concealing items
- Removing or altering price tags and other markings
- Switching packages to avoid detection
The penalties for shoplifting in the state are similar to those above and will vary depending on the amount of goods taken. In addition to these criminal penalties, those convicted of shoplifting will also face civil liability. Under these laws, they may have to return the item and if it is not in resale condition, individuals may have to pay up to $500 in additional penalties.
Our Theft Crime Lawyer in Metairie Can Help You Beat Your Charges
Theft may seem like a minor crime to some, but the penalties for those convicted are harsh. At Palazzo Law Firm, our Metairie theft crime lawyer can prepare the solid defense you need to beat your charges and protect your future. If you have been charged, do not wait to call us at 504-433-1442 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our experienced attorney and to learn more about how we can assist with your case.