Metairie Sex Crime Lawyer
Of all the criminal charges you could face in Louisiana, those involving sex crimes are some of the most serious. State prosecutors pursue these charges very aggressively and if they secure a conviction, the penalties are extremely harsh. For some, the effects may impact the rest of their lives. If you have been charged, you not only face prison time but also high fines and potentially a lifelong requirement to appear on the sex offender registry. Below, our Metairie sex crime lawyer outlines the different types of offenses, and how to avoid a conviction.
State law defines rape as any vaginal, oral, or anal intercourse with another person that is committed without the other person’s legal consent. Any sexual penetration, no matter how slight, is enough for rape to occur. The law also outlines different types of rape and they are as follows:
- First-degree rape: When the alleged victim is 65 years of age or older, a conviction is punishable by death or life in prison without the possibility for probation, parole, or suspension of a sentence.
- Second-degree rape: This type of rape occurs when the alleged victim cannot resist the act due to force or threats of physical violence and the victim does not believe resisting would stop the act. Second-degree rape is punishable by 5 to 40 years in prison.
- Third-degree rape: Third-degree rape is defined as occurring when an alleged victim could not resist or understand the nature of the act due to an intoxicating agent or any other cause and the perpetrator should have known about the alleged victim’s incapacity. A conviction is punishable by up to 25 years in prison.
Sexual battery occurs when someone intentionally touches another person’s genitals or anus by the offender using any part of the body of the perpetrator or using any instrument either through clothing or directly. In order for sexual battery to occur, the following must also apply:
- The act was done without the alleged victim’s consent
- The alleged victim is under 15 years old and is at least three years younger than the perpetrator
- The perpetrator is 17 years old or older and acts under certain circumstances
Sexual battery is typically punishable by up to ten years in prison. However, there are circumstances in which a person could face a minimum of 25 years in prison.
Child pornography occurs when a person produces, promotes, advertises, distributes, possesses, or possesses with the intent to distribute pornographic material involving minor children. Parents and legal guardians do not have the legal authority to consent to a child’s participation in pornography. Penalties vary for those convicted but they range from between 5 and 20 years in prison.
Call Our Sex Crime Lawyer in Metairie Today
The above are just a few of the most common sex offense charges in Louisiana. Regardless of the charges you are facing, our Metairie sex crime lawyer at Palazzo Law Firm can help you beat them. Call us now at 504-433-1442 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.