Metairie Marijuana Lawyer
Compared to hard drugs such as crack cocaine or heroin, marijuana may not seem as dangerous. Federal and state law enforcement agencies, though, do not share this perception and both pursue marijuana charges aggressively. In fact, the Louisiana Department of Health has linked marijuana use to heart attacks and schizophrenia. These are just a few reasons the state, unlike so many others, have not legalized marijuana for recreational use. If you have been charged with possessing or distributing marijuana, you need sound legal advice. Our Metairie marijuana lawyer can provide it.
What are the Marijuana Offenses in Metairie?
There are three main types of marijuana offenses in Metairie. The first is simple possession. Even when a person possesses under 14 grams of marijuana and they are charged with a first-time offense, they may still be sentenced to up to 15 days of jail time. However, these sentences do not apply for individuals who are legally allowed to use medicinal marijuana. These individuals must have a recommendation from a state-licensed physician, and they must purchase it from one of the few pharmacies licensed to sell it.
The other two marijuana offenses in the state are manufacturing and distribution. Manufacturing, of course, refers to growing and cultivating the drug while distribution means selling marijuana to another person. When the drug is transported, particularly across state lines, drug trafficking charges may apply, even at the federal level.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession
The penalties for marijuana possession largely depend on the amount a person had on their person or property, such as in their home or vehicle. For a first offense of possessing fewer than 14 grams, the penalties include up to 15 days in jail and a $300 fine. Individuals who possess more than 14 grams will face penalties of up to six months in jail, and a maximum $1,000 fine. Penalties for a second offense increase to up to six months in jail and a maximum $1,00 fine.
Marijuana possession is charged as a felony when a person has two prior convictions on their record. Penalties for a third conviction include at least two years in jail, which may include hard labor. A maximum fine of $2,500 may also apply. A subsequent conviction of four or more will result in up to eight years in prison, which may include hard labor, and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Although the above consequences can be devastating, there are others, as well. Convicted individuals may have to enroll in a substance abuse program and perform community service. Due to the fact that Louisiana is a three-strike state, a person could even spend the rest of their lives in prison after being convicted. Those charged with manufacturing or distribution will face even harsher penalties.
Our Marijuana Lawyer in Metairie Can Fight Your Case
Whether you have been charged with possession or manufacturing and distribution, the charges against you are serious. At Palazzo Law Firm, our Metairie marijuana lawyer can fight back against these charges and give you the best chance of beating them. Call us now at 504-433-1442 or reach out to us online to schedule a free consultation and to learn more.