Palazzo Law Firm ${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
Local 504-433-1442
Toll Free 1-877-433-1442

What to expect if your underage kid faces alcohol-related charges

You leave for the weekend or send your kid off to college with your full trust. Unfortunately, you get the call that your child was caught consuming alcohol. You might be distraught, confused and wondering what will happen next. In this situation, it is important for you to know about the laws about underage drinking in Louisiana and potential punishments.

The exact consequences will vary on the details of the situation, including whether your child is a first-time offender and if there is a charge for driving under the influence involved. Keep reading for more information about the laws and penalties about underage drinking.

Minor in possession

Louisiana has minor in possession laws to deter underage minors from possessing or consuming alcohol in public. The potential penalties for violations include:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to a $100 fine
  • Driver's license suspension of 180 days

Your child may be able to get a restricted license if he or she is a first-time offender and would be unable to drive to school or work.

The exceptions

The aforementioned laws only apply to public possession or consumption. The law does not apply if your child was possessing or consuming alcohol in the following circumstances:

  • For a religious event
  • In a private residence
  • When accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or spouse
  • When handling, selling or transporting alcoholic beverages for his or her job

If any of these circumstances apply to your situation, you may be able to mount a strong argument to reduce or drop charges with the help of a criminal defense attorney.

Zero tolerance DUI

If your child is found driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or higher, he or she may face DUI charges. A first-offense underage DUI conviction comes with a fine between $100 and $250, an educational driving course and an alcohol abuse evaluation.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION NOW

Find Out How We Help Our Family

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION
Review Us

Contact

Palazzo Law Firm
732 Behrman Hwy.
Suites F & G
Gretna, LA 70056

Toll Free: 877-433-1442
Phone: 504-433-1442
Fax: 504-433-9111
Gretna Law Office Map